

Kentucky Law Enforcement Memorial Foundation Department of Criminal Justice Training Funderburk Building, 521 Lancaster Avenue Richmond, Kentucky 40475-3102 Office: 859/622-8081 Fax: 859/622-3162



NEWS ADVISORY

For immediate release: August 3, 2010

For more information call Abbie Darst, (859) 622-6453

KENTUCKY LAW ENFORCEMENT MEMORIAL FOUNDATION AWARDS \$28,000 IN SCHOLARSHIPS

Scholarships awarded to law enforcement officers, dependants and survivors of officers killed in the line of duty

RICHMOND, Ky. – A total of \$28,000 in scholarships was awarded to 25 students across Kentucky by the Kentucky Law Enforcement Memorial Foundation. The Gerald F. Healy Kentucky Law Enforcement Memorial Foundation Scholarships were awarded to law enforcement officers' dependents and survivors of officers killed in the line of duty. Officers' dependents were awarded \$1,000 toward the fall 2010 semester and officers' survivors received \$2,000.

The scholarships help support students at 11 Kentucky colleges and universities, one in Illinois and one in South Carolina.

Founded in 1999, The Kentucky Law Enforcement Memorial Foundation's original purpose was to build a memorial that would honor all Kentucky officers who have been killed in the line of duty. Once the monument was completed in 2000, the organization expanded its efforts to include a financial endowment program, which helps Kentucky peace officers and their families with educational, medical and emergency relief.

In 2004, the foundation created this scholarship program to help law enforcement officers, telecommunicators and their families pay for college. It is restricted to law enforcement officers and telecommunication personnel (current, retired or disabled) and their survivors or dependents. The scholarships may be used at any accredited college or university, including two-year and community colleges and may also be used for attendance at recognized or certified vocational or trade schools. Students do not have to major in law enforcement or criminal justice to be eligible for the scholarship.

"The goal of the Kentucky Law Enforcement Memorial Foundation has always been to honor and help the officers of this state," said KLEMF Executive Director Chuck Melville. "I cannot think of a better way to honor the fallen heroes of the past and our officers of today than to help educate their survivors, their comrades and their dependents for a better future."

Gerald F. Healy was a founding member of the KLEMF organization and served on the board of directors until his death in January 2009. The owner of 14 McDonald's franchises in central Kentucky, Healy embraced the philosophy of giving back to the community and was instrumental in starting the KLEMF college scholarship program.

Fall 2010 semester Gerald F. Healy scholarship recipients are:

Alex Albert Lee Allen of Viper, Hazard Community and Technical College; **Tyler S. Bailey** of Hazard, University of Kentucky;



Kentucky Law Enforcement Memorial Foundation Department of Criminal Justice Training Funderburk Building, 521 Lancaster Avenue Richmond, Kentucky 40475-3102 Office: 859/622-8081 Fax: 859/622-3162



Andrew James-Carl Bee of Elizabethtown, Bellarmine University;

Laura Allison Bland of Goshen, University of Kentucky;

Michelle Ann Butler of Villa Hills, Eastern Kentucky University;

Brittany Renee Crowder of Florence, Northern Kentucky University;

Johnna Callie Edrington of London, Eastern Kentucky University;

Joshua Edward Elam of London, University of Kentucky;

Nolan Robert Fernandez of Lexington, Wabash Valley College (Mt. Carmel, Ill.);

Robert Matthew Gilvin of DeMossville, Georgetown College;

Ross Taylor Hall of Bardstown, Transylvania University;

Anthony Joseph Kramer of Erlanger, University of Louisville;

Niccole Lee Mardis of Bardstown, University of Louisville;

Roberta Dee Mardis of Lexington, University of Kentucky;

Judith Elizabeth Maurer of Williamstown, Gateway Community and Technical College;

Chelsea Lynn Peters of McKee, Eastern Kentucky University;

Donald Kaleb Petrella of Ashland, University of Louisville

Brinda Norine Porter of Campbellsburg, Bellarmine University;

Kaitlyn DeAnn Russo of Lexington, Coastal Carolina University (Myrtle Beach, S.C.);

Brittany Michelle Sennett of Lexington, Western Kentucky University;

Amber Dawn Sexton of Clearfield, Morehead State University;

Heather Lynne Szurlinski of Florence, Northern Kentucky University;

Natalie Marie Thompson of Louisville, University of Louisville;

Aleana Tyler Yocum of Louisville, Eastern Kentucky University; and

Alecia Jean York of Elizabethtown, University of Louisville.